And then there were 9

Sometimes it seems to me there are no more than 9 minutes left in every day for writing and me I am not a linear or even a terribly productive person.

Yet I would say that a remarkable number of things do get done, in spite of my disinclination to do them. My friend Donna (who went, with her husband, to witness for us in Quebec) says that I am the most driven person she’s ever known.

This both baffles and flatters me (flaffle? blatter?), until I review, compare and contrast where we started, she and I as teenage runaways, hitchhiking from Las Cruces to Los Angeles without a single useable clue as to what we were doing or where we were going.

And somehow, even though I was patently less practical, more “at risk” than Donna (apologize for the quotes) by temperament and background, yet and still I kept going and going like an energizer bunny with chronically low batteries and somehow ended up with a bazillion years of education and surprising adventures and who woulda thunk it? Maybe the absence of a safety net had something to do with it? Yep, that’s me, up by the bootstraps and all.

Which is to say something like, how exactly did I get here?

2 Responses to “And then there were 9”

  1. It’s one of those things you don’t usually stop to think about. Where you are, how you got there, how you would have never predicted 30ish ago that you’d be there.

    For what it’s worth, I think of you more as educated, erudite, intelligent, creative. Driven isn’t a word I would associate with you, yet now that I reflect on it, you must have a lot of drive to have collected the knowledge and know-how and awareness. It doesn’t come without work. I guess I tend to view the word “driven” negatively, although I don’t see why that should be the case.

  2. I also have a negative association with the word driven. On the other hand, I have definitely fought hard to earn my life, my love, and my level of privilege in this world. And I have a fear of passivity, which I frequently feel creeping up on me. So I guess that does make me driven. I like erudite better, though — I think I’ll keep that one.

    Thanks for coming by — I am off to do ice and heat and may write a little tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

