On our way to the courthouse

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I did not like weddings much until I started planning my own (the first one, ten years ago). What I found, in Quebec, is that a legal wedding is even more emotionally charged than a “commitment ceremony”. I suppose I knew that already, but still was surprised when I spent the day alternately weeping and being astonished by the beauty of almost everything in the natural world. It was a day of affirmation, where we were driven in procession through the old town of Quebec, and everywhere we went people were smiling and waving at us. At us! I wish it would happen here at home, in the country where we are born citizens. I would wed Laurie again in any country, in any language, in any decade, for the rest of my life. Weddings aside, though, we are married, married, married. 

Photo and text Copyright © October 18, 2007 Teresa Valle. May not be used without permission. 

10 Responses to “On our way to the courthouse”

  1. Yay! Congratulations to you both!!

  2. Thank you Brian!

    The wedding was beautiful, legal, stylish, and in French!

    Our first wedding was very rustic, folksy, out in the woods with only family and friends to witness. This one in Quebec was modern, urban, very public — so different.

    I love your blog, by the way. I write mostly fiction, and being here at this new site, where I am trying to talk more about my own life, has made me realize how exponentially more “out” this is. In Repair is direct, honest, sincere — a great model for a nervous novice in non-fiction writing.

  3. Sounds wonderful.

    It is a little intimidating to write out personal issues. I’m a terrible fanatic about anonymity. I don’t want anyone reading my blog to know where I live, work, or even the real name of my partner (friends are the exception). I decided long ago to write articles that reveal my inner thoughts and struggles, while keeping my personal information private. It’s a tightrope, but I think I’ve succeeded for the most part. In a way, it allows me more freedom to express my opinions without fear of retaliation.

    Does that make any sense? lol

  4. That should say “write about personal issues.” Sorry.

  5. Yeah, I’m using a pen name. It’s related to my family name, but puts enough distance that I can feel somewhat anonymous. I’m still struggling with my fiction. I want my name on that to protect copyright, but don’t want to put myself at risk of violence. It’s difficult, knowing that sweet innocent little me is somehow a threat to the sanctity of etc etc and yet here I am. Scapegoated.

  6. Congratulations to you and yours, Bosque!

  7. Thank you, Ben – L and I feel extraordinary blessed, in life and in marriage.

  8. Great photo! My congratulations to you both.

    And speaking of your blog, didn’t I read not too long ago that you’d be writing daily? ; – ) (because I like reading what you write)

  9. Gah. I tore a muscle? dislocated something? am having an MRI next week because there’s something wrong with my shoulder that is making writing really difficult. I am having an associated emotional crisis about my health and how it has eaten up years of my life at a time. Which I think or believe I want to write about, but every time I approach it I choke. Anyway, I’m glad you like reading what I write — I enjoy you and QM over at Red Ravine too — I love how the discussions and comments keep coming for months, even, after the initial post.

  10. Huge congratulations to you both, it sounds like a wonderful event and a ‘consummation devoutly to be wished’ to paraphrase Shakespeare. Plus, you both look gorgeous 🙂

Leave a Reply

